November Reading Goals

I’ve hit a lull in my reading so I want to dedicate this month to getting back into the swing of things. Here are my top three goals for November:

1. Finish Wicked.
To be honest, I haven’t gotten into this book as much as I thought I would–I think it’s not quite what I expected. For those of you who haven’t read it, it’s super political and satirical, and not as much of a “fun read” as I thought. That said, I really want to finish it up; I’m not someone who usually abandons books. I believe I’m halfway through it, so this shouldn’t be a problem.

2. Read The Girl on the Train.
I just received a confirmation email that this book is on its way to my doorstep! I’m not sure how I haven’t read it yet; I didn’t see the movie either so I’m still in the dark about everything. I think I avoided this book at first because I hate reading books that get super hyped up, made into a movie, and then they just don’t turn out as good as I expected–if that makes any sense. However, I think I’ve given this book enough time to have its hype aired out and I still want to read it. I’m excited to give it a proper review.

3. Pick out another book to read from the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge.
This might sound lame to some of you (if you’re a true compulsive reader, it won’t!), but I really wanted to get through the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge list like during my lifetime. I didn’t want to set a time limit or make myself hate doing it, so I’m meandering my way through the 300+ books. After doing a quick scan of the list, I think my next choice might either be The Five People You Meet in HeavenHelter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders (thanks to my love for The Girls), or Me Talk Pretty One Day. After reading so many classics for the past four years for my degree, I’ve been trying to stick to novels that have been published more recently (say, the last 20 or so years); hence why I’ve stayed away from the classics included within the Challenge.

What are your goals for November? Have you taken at crack at the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge?

3 thoughts on “November Reading Goals

  1. Shut the front door! There’s a Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge?! I need to get on this ASAP, especially with the new series coming up this one, which I am WAY too excited for. Those are a lot of books, but i’ll take any excuse to read the Diary of Anne Frank again. Thanks for bringing that to my attention. Great blog by the way, loving all the inspiration.

    We’re currently looking for some great books/literature content on Creators. Would you be interested in sharing your thoughts, opinions and tips on the platform? I’d love to hear from you! Feel free to shoot me an e-mail so I can expand on that. You can find my contact details on my blog. Hopefully talk soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

