Let’s Get Crafty: Repurposing Old Book Pages

I know, I know–it seems like the Holidays (Christmas in particular) seem to sneak up on us every year. I walked into Target the weekend after Halloween–I kid you not–and was inundated with Christmas decorations and products. It’s like Thanksgiving has turned into the ugly stepsister that people want to forget about. Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas and the December holidays just as much as the next person, but I also like to savor the season in its prime rather than drag it out for 2 months. However, as I was scrolling through Pinterest the other day, I couldn’t help but come across some wicked cute Christmas-themed crafts that use the pages from old books. I definitely want to try a few of these out for my apartment! I’ll have to make a trip to my local thrift store and grab some old novels to use because I’m certainly not going to use any from my collection!

1.  Book Page Bows

Repurposed Book Page Bows Gift Wrap Christmas Birthday by http://knickoftimeinteriors.blogspot.com/

These are honestly so cute and seem super easy to make! I would love to use these on presents that I give out–especially since I’m notorious for gifting people books I think they would love. This would also be super pretty when used as garland on a tree or to frame a doorway or window.

2. Dictionary Magnets

Dictionary Magnets with Crafty Words by @amandaformaro Crafts by Amanda

Ok, these would make great gifts or supplement themed gifts! At the end of the blog post, the author gives you some ideas about words to use for an occupation that your recipient has and words related to hobbies that they do. I thought these would be hard to create, but it seems pretty simple!

3. Altered Bottles

The blogger uses sheet music in this tutorial, which would be really cool if you had holiday sheet music to use, but I think book pages would work as well. Depending on the size of the pages and your bottle, perhaps a sort of collage would be more suitable. I can imagine grabbing an old copy of A Christmas Carol and whipping up a couple of these. I knew I kept all those empty glass bottles for a reason…

Leave a Reply

