November Goals Update

Yes, I missed the end of the month by a few days, but I was so close to finishing one book that I just wanted to wait until I officially did. To recap my Monthly Goals, I wanted to finish Wicked, read The Girl on the Train, and pick out another book from the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge. Let’s just say, I had a super productive month. 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I did finish Wicked, and you can tell from my review that I would not recommend it. Basically, read it if you have to for the Challenge, or because you’re a Wizard of Oz fiend, but not for entertainment or enjoyment. Was that too harsh?

I also finished The Girl on the Train. I am so glad I finally read this, but I still haven’t seen the movie (I want to!). I wouldn’t say this was the greatest thriller ever, but it scratches the thriller itch. I’m not one to go for a book because it’s being made into a movie or because it has largely positive hype, but this one deserved it.

I ended up picking 1984 by George Orwell to read for the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge. For some reason, I don’t think I ever read this in high school–and I definitely didn’t in college. I did read Animal Farm, so I had some Orwell under my belt before I started this novel. In short, I absolutely loved this and wished I had read it while in school so I could write a paper on it! I went a bit crazy underlining and researching different ideas while simultaneously devouring the book. I will probably read a few more critical sources and reviews to cultivate a broader understanding. I’m not sure if I’m going to post a full-length review, but I’m going to gather my thoughts, do a bit more reading, and see where it takes me.

I will hopefully have my goals for December posted early next week. I already have a few in mind, but with the holidays approaching, I’m not sure how many I’ll actually accomplish.

By the way, did anyone watch Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life? Of course I did and I kinda wanna watch it again, but that’s for another post.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

