December Reading Goals Update

Here we are, at the end of the month and the end of the year, with another update regarding my monthly reading goals. December was hectic, but I did end up getting through quite a few books! I strayed a bit from my original goals; however, I am extremely excited about sharing what I read since they were all amazing!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

For Christmas, I received Lauren Graham’s Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (and Everything In Between) and Chip and Joanna Gaines’s The Magnolia Story–each of which I plowed through in a day. The speed at which I read these books obviously says something about the writing and the stories told.

In Talking as Fast as I Can, I honestly felt like Graham was speaking to me as if I was her new best friend to whom she was telling her life story. As a Gilmore Girls fanatic, I loved reading the journal-like part that chronicled her time during the filming of the reboot. And I also loved reading about the hardships she went through during her rise to fame. Graham and Lorelai Gilmore almost seem to share the same brain, as evident through her quick wit and humorous references. I definitely recommend this to any Gilmore Girls or Parenthood fan, and for anyone who wants to read about a down-to-earth actress’s ups and downs during her life. (I’m debating about doing a full review of this because I loved it so much!)

The Magnolia Story was so heartwarming, just like Chip and Joanna come across on their show, Fixer Upper. If you haven’t heard of Fixer Upper, crawl out from under that rock and turn your TV to HGTV (or search for it on Netflix)–it’s amazing. I never knew I was so into house renovations or decor until I started watching this funny and gracious couple flip houses and raise their four children. Honestly, while watching shows like this, it’s easy to believe these people were always successful and amazing at what they do. The Magnolia Story takes readers to the very beginning of the Gaines’ relationship, back to the first day they met. It details how they survived the hard times and relished in the successes. Without sounding too cliché, their story is inspiring and made me want to start my own business! Now to only figure out what I’d what it to be…

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I also read A Christmas Carol, which knocked another one off the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge list. I had never read this before–and I honestly hadn’t read Dickens in a while–so it was nice to read something new while revisiting one of the greats.

I was able to finish The Dovekeepers, which allowed me to check off one of my goals. I loved loved loved this novel and you can read my full review about it here.

The one goal I didn’t get to was to read The Silkworm (Cormoran Strike Series #2), but I hope read this one in January.

As you can tell from the picture above, I also received a couple other books for Christmas that I didn’t mention here, so be on the lookout for reviews and posts about those. And also keep an eye out for my January Monthly Goals, which will post at the beginning of the month!

 

2 thoughts on “December Reading Goals Update

Leave a Reply

