My (Recent) Favorite Characters

Obviously it would be hard to name every character I’ve ever fallen in love with, so I’m trying to limit myself to books I’ve read within the past year or so. I don’t think there’s any rhyme or reason to this list, and if you put them in a room with one another, I’m curious as to what kind of party that would create. This probably just shows how my literary interests are all over the place.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

1. Robin Ellacott (Cormoran Strike novels)

Granted I’ve only read the first one, and I’m just about to start the second, I can already tell that I absolutely love this character. She’s ingenious, observant, and pairs great with Strike’s character. I would argue that Rowling enjoys writing strong female roles (ahem, H. Granger), and it is obvious in her characterization of Robin.

2. Patrick Bateman (American Psycho)

Ok, I’ll probably get some weird looks for this one, but hear me out! If you haven’t read American Psycho, do it with caution, but do it (if you can handle the gore…p.s. it’s worse than the movie). I love this character because he is crazy. I honestly noticed myself laughing/giggling aloud during his random outbursts–or whatever he thought he was saying to people but was he really…? He’s a great character to discuss, which is evident in his idolization of Donald Trump, but we won’t go that route on this blog.

3. Clarissa Dalloway (Mrs. Dalloway)

So I’ve actually read this novel a few times, but I have read it in the past year thus it counts! I love Clarissa Dalloway because on the surface, she’s just a middle-aged woman throwing a party, however, her character becomes much more complex following the first sentence of the novel: “Mrs. Dalloway said she would buy the flowers herself”–which is my favorite first sentence, ever. I think everyone should attempt to read Woolf at some point–don’t let the modernist style scare you.

4. Shirah (The Dovekeepers)

As you can tell from my review, I deeply enjoyed this novel, thus making it hard to pick just one woman as my favorite. However, I think Shirah was the most interesting due to her story and her final actions as the Romans were closing in on Masada. Every female within the book was strong-willed and admirable, but I think the sorceress aspect of Shirah’s character pushed me to like her just a tiny bit more.

Who are some of your favorite characters?

 

One thought on “My (Recent) Favorite Characters

Leave a Reply

