From Page to Screen

It seems like there is always at least one movie in theaters that was first a book, and I like to try to read the book before seeing the movie. I was recently browsing lists of book-based movies that are coming out in 2017 and thought it would be a good idea to share some of the ones I’m interested in reading before seeing.

Page to Screen 1-16-17

 

1. Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly
Release Date: January 6, 2017

This movie/book seems so empowering. While I probably won’t get around to reading it before the movie is out of the theaters, I would still love to learn more about the topic and the three African-American women who worked at NASA before watching–and let’s be honest, the book always holds more information than the movie.

2Live by Night by Dennis Lehane
Release Date: January 13, 2017

The time period (the roaring 20s) and the setting (Boston) of this movie/novel caught my attention, and who doesn’t love Ben Affleck in a good ol’ Boston-based flick. The reviews so far look a little iffy, but again it’s Affleck, Boston, and the roaring 20s–I’m sure there’s something in the movie I’ll love. Lehane is a writer who I’m unfamiliar with, although I just read that Gone Baby Gone (another Boston-based Affleck film) and Shutter Island–both of which I saw–were based on his books. Also, Live by Nighis a sequel to The Given Day (which is a whopping 704 pages I might add!), so I’ve added both to my TBR list.

3. The Zookeeper’s Wife: A War Story by Diane Ackerman
Release Date: March 31, 2017

This movie stars Jessica Chastain (The MartianThe HelpZero Dark Thirty) and Daniel Brühl (Inglorious BastardsThe ColonyThe Bourne Ultimatum) and is about zookeepers in Warsaw who helped saved hundreds of people from the Nazis during World War II; this is a true story. I think a lot of people would agree that WWII is one of the more fascinating war periods to read about, and I bet this movie will be a huge hit. I love that this is another nonfiction book and story, similar to Hidden Figures, that is getting attention.

4. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
Release Date: April 26, 2017

Although this is technically being turned into a TV series that will debut on Hulu, I do think this novel is still worth mentioning. As you know, I recently read 1984, and I think this novel would be a perfect companion to Orwell’s. I have read The Penelopiad by Atwood, so I am familiar with her work, but I do think I want to dive further into her pieces–I also want to do a reread of The Penelopiad since I last read it in high school, which was about 5 years ago! I love the actresses that have been cast in this TV series, which include Alexis Bledel (Gilmore Girls), Elisabeth Moss (Mad Men), and Samira Wiley (Orange is the New Black). I think this book should be on everyone’s reading list regardless of whether you want to watch the series.

5. The Circle by Dave Eggers
Release Date: April 28, 2017

Never mind the fact that Emma Watson and Tom Hanks are in this movie, but the premise just sounds so interesting and relevant for our current time period. How much information is too much information? I haven’t read Eggers before, so this would be my first introduction to his body of work.

6. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
Release Date: TBD

According to Variety, Michelle MacLaren (Breaking BadGame of ThronesThe Walking Dead) has signed on to direct the film adaptation of Hannah’s novel. I don’t think there’s a cast or release date yet, so this is one to watch. This novel already found its way to my TBR list, and my mom gave it 5 stars on Goodreads, which is significant because she is very critical!

I also wanted to mention that I started watching A Series of Unfortunate Events on Netflix and I think it’s amazing so far! This was one of my favorite series in elementary school, and I like this adaptation much more than the 2004 movie (and after browsing through some critical reviews, I think most would tend to agree with me).

What book-based movies or TV shows are you excited to see? Have you started watching A Series of Unfortunate Events? What are your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “From Page to Screen

Leave a Reply

