Crime Books on my TBR List

Today, I’m talking about some of the hyped-up crime books I’ve been wanting to read. All of these are newer releases, but I just haven’t gotten around to picking up a copy (or, for some, the waiting list has been way too long at my library). Psychological crime/thriller books are definitely “in,” and I think Gone Girl has a lot to do with that.

Crime TBR

 

1. The Silent Girls by Eric Rickstad
I’m not sure where I first came across this book (maybe on Goodreads?), but the summary sounds so interesting, I couldn’t not add it to my  TBR list. I mean come on, “the darkest abominations within the human soul”? I can’t pass that up. And it takes place in Vermont, which hits very close to home. With this seeming to be a detective novel of sorts, I wonder how it will compare to my favorite Comoran Strike series.

2. All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda
This novel sounds so interesting because it’s told in reverse! It also features a storyline in which the disappearances of two women intertwine, however, they disappear a decade apart. The Goodreads description states that this novel is very similar to The Girl on the Train and Luckiest Girl Alive, both of which are huge hits in the crime community.

3. In the Woods by Tana French
I’ve heard great things about French’s mystery novels, and after rereading the description of this one, I’m even more interested to pick up a copy. The main character of this novel is a detective, so similar to The Silent Girls, I’m eager to see if this is comparable to the Comoran Strike series, which I love. This is also a series so I’m eager to jump into the first one and completely fall in love.

4. The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena
My mom actually recommended this book to me, and she gave it a 4/5 on Goodreads, which means it’s probably pretty good (she’s a tough critic). A missing baby, a seemingly normal family, what could go wrong? I think these are the best kinds of storylines.

5. The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
This novel is about a one-night stand that goes horribly wrong. From the description, The Good Girl sounds like it has some Law and Order: SVU vibes, which means I will probably really enjoy this novel.

6. The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware
I read Ware’s In a Dark, Dark Wood  and I thought it was pretty great. It had an original storyline and kept me guessing until the final page. I wasn’t in love with the main character, but I could look past her faults because the premise was so great. The fact that The Woman in Cabin 10 takes place on a cruise ship only further solidifies my lack of desire to ever take a cruise.

***

If you’re looking to read more crime and thriller book reviews, definitely check out Crime by the Book. She reads tons of thrillers, and she also inspired me to start this blog!

What crime, thriller, or mystery books are you eager to read?

One thought on “Crime Books on my TBR List

Leave a Reply

