Books on my Shelf

I think all bookworms are guilty of buying more books than they can read–and I’m not exempt from that fact. As I was thinking about what books I should pick up next, I realized I probably already have some on my shelf that haven’t read; and of course, I was right. Weirdly there seemed to be a red and orange cover theme going on with this pile. At least it made for a cool picture! A few of these books I clearly remember purchasing (the time, the place, the reason, etc.), and others I think just showed up on my shelf one day.

img_8718

On the Road by Jack Kerouac
I haven’t read any Kerouac before, and to be honest, I’m not sure what made me pick up a copy of this novel. I think I wanted to read more Ameriacan literature and Kerouac’s style seemed interesting.

Shame and Haroun and the Sea of Stories by Salman Rushdie
I first read Rushdie in a class about Postcolonial literature, and I fell in love with the stories in East, West. I am really looking forward to diving into his body of work. (I actually picked up both of these copies from The Toadstool Bookshop!)

First They Killed My Father by Loung Ung
I think I actually won this book in high school for some award, but I never got around to reading it. This novel is about the Cambodian genocide that took place between 1975-1979. This is a subject I think only got touched on during my U.S. and World Affairs class, but I’m very interesting in learning more about this horrific time.

The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler
I think I picked up this novel becuase I was looking for more recently published books as I was tired of reading “classics.” I think I had also just finished Persuasion by Austen, so that motivated my purchase as well.

The Rainbow by D.H. Lawrence
I bought this book at the open market that was across the street from the college at I stayed at while studying abroad at Cambridge University. I had just finished reading Women in Love by Lawrence and wanted more! I thought purchasing this used copy at an open market would be more memorable than picking up a copy back at home in B&N, and boy was I right.

***

Are you in the habit of collecting and buying books quicker than you can read them? I would love know some of the titles!

3 thoughts on “Books on my Shelf

Leave a Reply

