Belated Black History Month Reads

I know Black History Month was last month, but I wanted to write a post that focuses on novels by black writers that I have read or that are on my TBR list. I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t have a very diverse reading list, but I’m making a goal to change this. 

Black history month

 

Mama Day by Gloria Naylor
This novel is mentioned on my about page, but I wanted to reiterate my love for it. I read this for a Shakespeare and Race class during college, and I loved the magical realism as well as Naylor’s prose. After finishing this novel, I put The Women of Brewster Place and Bailey’s Cafe both on my TBR list.

Desdemona by Toni Morrison
This is a play that gives a voice to Desdemona from Shakespeare’s Othello. This is a gorgeously written play, and there are even some clips on YouTube of the play being performed. I know Beloved is one of Morrison’s more well-known books, but definitely check out this play.

Swing Time by Zadie Smith
This book is on my TBR list. I’ve heard many great things about Zadie Smith and I’m excited to jump into her body of work. From the Goodreads description: “Dazzlingly energetic and deeply human, Swing Time is a story about friendship and music and stubborn roots, about how we are shaped by these things and how we can survive them.”

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Another book I added to my TBR list, but again, I’ve heard and read great things about all of her work. From the Barnes & Noble description: “A powerful, tender story of race and identity by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, the award-winning author of Half of a Yellow Sun.” The plot sounds really interesting, and it has almost 4.5 stars on Goodreads.

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
Some readers describe the novel as difficult to read, but that was the nature of slavery in the United States, which makes me think this book keeps events and actions as realistic as possible. From the Goodreads description: “The Underground Railroad is at once a kinetic adventure tale of one woman’s ferocious will to escape the horrors of bondage and a shattering, powerful meditation on the history we all share.”

***

Have you read any of these books or are any on your TBR list?

One thought on “Belated Black History Month Reads

Leave a Reply

